test test test Alabama Family Rights Association | Legislative Alert: Your Voice is needed – CALL NOW!
 

Legislative Alert: Your Voice is needed – CALL NOW!

Legislative Alert: Your Voice is needed – CALL NOW!

Child custody bill, SB 186 placed in the Senate Judiciary Committee

A bipartisan bill known as the “Children’s Equal Access Act,” SB 186 was filed February 14, 2017 and placed in the Senate Judiciary Committee.

 

This bill will create an equal starting points in all child custody cases for children and their parents. As a result, the bill will equally protect children’s relationships with both of their fit parents; and reduce placing Alabama children at risk for juvenile imprisonment, teen pregnancy, suicide, drug use, and sex trafficking.

 

The Children’s Equal Access Act, SB186 incorporate the latest research and creates “a rebuttable presumption in favor of a division of equal or approximately equal time between two fit parents and children”.

You can read the bill in its entirety here.

Senator Larry Stutts is the sponsor (with 9 co-sponsors) has requested SB186 be placed on the Judiciary Committee agenda for a vote February 22, 2017.

We ask you to take a moment today to contact as many of these committee members as you can and urge them to vote “YES” on SB 186. Communicate that you deeply appreciate their commitment to doing what’s right in Montgomery; especially by putting children’s and families first.

Below are the listed Judiciary Committee members:

Senators                                             Office Phone              email

Ward, Cam (Chair)                             334-242-7873              cam@camward.com

Williams, Phil (Vice Chair)                  334-242-7857              Phil@williamsstatesenate.com

Albritton, Greg                                     334-242-7843              galbritton@att.net

Coleman-Madison, Linda                    334-242-7864              linda.coleman@birminghamal.gov

Figures, Vivian                                    334-242-7871              vivian.figures@alsenate.gov

Orr, Arthur                                           334-242-7891              arthur.orr@alsenate.gov

Reed, Greg                                         334-242-7894              greg.reed@alsenate.gov

Sanders, Hank                                    334-242-7860       hank23sanders@gmail.com

Scofield, Clay                                     334-242-7876              clay.scofield@alsenate.gov

Singleton, Bobby                                 334-242-7935              bsingle362@gmail.com

Smitherman, Rodger                          334-242-7870              rodger.smitherman@alsenate.gov

Stutts, Larry                                        334-242-7862              larry.stutts@alsenate.gov

Whatley, Tom                                     334-242-7865              tom.whatley@alsenate.gov

 

We ask for everyone to please take a few moments by calling or emailing the listed members above before noon Wednesday.

Thank you for taking a moment to stand up and be heard. Together we can make our voices heard to protect children relationships with both of their biological parents.

No Comments

Post A Comment